READ ALSO: Kogi: Okun-Yoruba group demands separation from Daily Times understands that Kwara South Consultative Forum, made up of Yorubas from seven local government areas in […] It comprises the Igala, Ebira, Kabba, Yoruba and Kogi divisions of the former Kabba province. The state was created in 1991 from parts of Kwara State and Benue State. Igala is the majority ethnic group in the state. The Yoruba people have a vibrant and interesting culture, and you might enjoy learning more about them. Kogi state should have been nicknamed the ‘junction state’ its has the highest number of states that connect to it in Nigeria. Kogi state is located in the central region of Nigeria. These people were called Yoruba until a researcher known as Eva Kraft-Askari in 1965 suggested, during a field expedition, that they be called by the general name of Okun, meaning vitality or strength. Kogi State was cared out of Benue and Kwara States on August 27, 1991 by the Federal Military Government. The Yoruba ethnic group in Kwara and Kogi states has approached the National Assembly demanding a merger with their kith and kin in the South-West region in Nigeria through boundary adjustment. The capital of Kogi state is Lokoja. The people of ijumu speak a dialect of Yoruba language called Okun. Kogi State is the most centrally located of all the states of the federation. The Yoruba people found in Kogi State are collectively called “Okun”. It comprises of various tribes like the Igala, Ebira, Kabba and Yoruba divisions of the former Kabba province. History and people. Kogi State is one of the most sort for investment destinations in Nigeria. I hope you found this piece interesting. Kogi The seven states that fully or at least almost fully belong to the Yoruba people of Nigeria are Oyo, Ogun, Kwara, Lagos, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti. As of today, after numerous political divisions and influences, the Yoruba are the main ethnic group in Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, and Oyo State, and they also make up a sizable proportion of Kwara, Kogi and Edo State in Nigeria. Kogi State Revised 2020 Citizens Budget Kogi State Revised 2020 Citizens Budget Ebira Kogi State Revised 2020 Citizens Budget Yoruba Kogi State 2020 Revised Bill of Law Kogi State Revised 2020 Covid-19 Responsive Budget Microsoft Excel Kogi State Revised 2020 Covid-19 Responsive Budget PDF Kogi State 2020 Revised Budget Explanatory Note The state as presently constituted, comprises the people of the Kabba Province of Northern Nigeria. Ekiti State; Kwara State; Some parts of Kogi State and Edo State also have some Yoruba settlements, but these states are not primarily recognized as the Yoruba states. The Okun people, located in Kogi-West senatorial district only make a portion of Kogi State. The major occupation in Ijumu is farming while the women engage in trade. Brief history of Ogun State capital. According to the 2006 census, Ijumu has a population of 119,929 people. Invest in Kogi. KSCF further demanded the rest of Yoruba in the remaining five local government areas of Kwara state should be part of KWARA Yoruba to be merged with the proposed Western Region through a Referendum. One of the first Qadi in the Kogi State was Faruk Imam.. Aside been one of the most endowed in large and commercially viable minerals and natural resources, the Government has put in place incestives that has made a lot of high class investors desirous of tapping into the limitless opportunities in our Confluence State.